[Review] Rhodi’s Light – Megan Linski

rhodi's light - megan linskiI read this book in October of 2016 for a book tour through Xpresso Book Tours. The blog it toured on no longer exists but this amazing book is still worth sharing!

Flight. Hyperspeed. Clairvoyance. 

These are some of the powers gifted to the Rhodi, an ancient sect of assassins who defend Crescentia, a dystopian world with a dying hope. 

Dyliana Fairsson is one of them. After losing her parents to a suspicious accident, she and her twin brother, Devin, join the Rhodi to avoid starvation. Under the direction of her master, Dylan struggles to learn the strength of her magic . . . as well as hide the growing scars on her wrists. Can Dylan become the warrior, the hero, she’s destined to be? Or is she fated to fall from the light into the darkness? 

This book was something completely new for me. When I first started it, I thought I was reading a straight-up fantasy novel, with the intense world-building and the characters. It all seemed very fantasy-ish to me (like something out of Game of Thrones or a similar world). But then you add in cars and cell phones and it turns into this dystopian world, but still keeping many of the fantasy aspects. It’s a combination I haven’t seen before and, though I wasn’t sure it would work in the beginning, I very quickly got sucked down Linski’s rabbit hole and found myself lost in the world of Crescentia, not wanting it to end. At the same time, though, I was flying through the pages, eager to see how it eventually would end, and how it leads into the next book. The ending, I will admit, wasn’t what I was hoping would happen with the main characters but it should make for a very exciting book 2.

A lot of what I loved about this book was the characters. At first, I wasn’t fond of Dylan. She was whiny. Very whiny. Not my kind of character. But she grew out of that (thankfully!) and I loved watching the bonds form between students and masters.

I originally gave this book 4 out of 5 stars when I reviewed it on Goodreads but have since changed that. It was mostly because I was still upset with the ending (and why I now wait a day or two to review). What can I say . . . I’m an emotional reader!

– Buy the Book – 
Amazon | Barnes & Noble

megan linski author pic

Ginger Mom (because it will get confusing because we’re both Megans): This first question is going to be a silly one but, why twins?
Megan: I used to be obsessed with twins. When I started writing Rhodi’s Light, I really wanted to have twins as my own children, through birth or adoption. I’m a big fan of adoption, which is a huge theme of the series.

Ginger Mom: Do you have a particular place you like to write? Somewhere that makes the inspiration “flow”? Also, computer or pen and paper?
Megan: I love writing outside and in nature. Anywhere outdoors is my favorite writing place, particularly if it’s in a forest. However, I do my best writing when I’m trapped in unusual places. My best work has come from places like dingy, bleak offices, the back of classrooms or dingy bedrooms, even Burger King! I find being in these particularly normal surroundings pushes me to find the magic, even in the most mundane. I also find I write well when I’m in some sort of emotional chaos. That pushes me to find an escape and create good from wretched situations.

Computer. Pen and paper makes my hand hurt way too much. Though typing isn’t much better . . . I have to wrap my wrists and hands now with athletic tape when I write and ice my fingers at night. My old high school teacher once told me I write too much. She was right.

– Connect with Megan –
Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Website

That was just a teaser interview. Megan has graciously agreed to do a new interview in September when we talk about her new book Torrent (releases September 12th so don’t forget to stop back for lots of book birthday fun!).

Happy Thursday!
megan happy reading signature

[Book Blitz] The Woodlands Series – Lauren Nicolle Taylor

WoodlandsBlitzBanner

“It seems so rare these days to find a dystopian with an original vein in it. The Woodlands succeeds.” -Author Pauline Creeden

“This book was fantastic! Spectacular! It had everything I look for in a book: action, adventure, and even romance!” -Reviewer Jocelyn Sanchez

Do you dare enter the Woodlands? 

As the last livable spot on Earth, it’s the only home Rosa and Joseph have ever known. But now they need to escape, or Rosa will be trapped forever in a horrific government program. A dystopian page-turner with over 750 five-star ratings on Goodreads. The Woodlands Series is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth, and The Jewel Series by Amy Ewing. 

SONY DSCAbout the Author

Lauren Nicolle Taylor lives in the lush Adelaide Hills. The daughter of a Malaysian nuclear physicist and an Australian scientist, she was expected to follow a science career path, attending Adelaide University and completing a Heath Science degree with Honours in obstetrics and gynaecology.

She then worked in health research for a short time before having her first child. Due to their extensive health issues, Lauren spent her twenties as a full-time mother/carer to her three children. When her family settled down, she turned to writing.

She is a 2014 Kindle Book Awards semi-finalist and a USA Best Book Awards finalist.

– Visit Lauren –
Website Goodreads Facebook Twitter

– Buy the Books –
Amazon Barnes & NobleKobo iBooks

giveaway button

And guess what? There’s a giveaway, too! Follow the Rafflecopter link below to enter to win a Clean Teen Publishing Mystery Box (International winner will get ebook prizes). Giveaway ends August 17th!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

ButtonXBT

That’s all for now! Hopefully you’ve just found another book to add to your TBR pile! Happy Wednesday!
megan happy reading signature

[Review] The Watchers of Eden – T.C. Edge

watchers of eden - tc edge

First off, I love these covers! What initially attracted me to this book was the cover, then of course the description. I am always looking for new dystopian reads. That being said, this book reminded me a lot of Divergent by Veronica Roth. Not saying that’s a bad thing. And this book wasn’t an exact copy. But the main themes were definitely very similar. Whether the rest of the series is going to follow the Divergent series or not, I don’t know.

As for the book, I really enjoyed the premise. Where there are similarities to Divergent, this book is also very different. The characters follow their own paths and I liked the way it went. I thought it was just a bit slow in the beginning because it’s the first book in this new dystopian world. So, naturally, a lot of ground had to be laid. I won’t say it was boring. I didn’t struggle through this book at all. 396 pages seemed to fly by like nothing. And it definitely satisfied my dystopian craving.

The characters worked really well together. I felt like there was a good balance between them. Relationships came naturally. They didn’t seem forced. They weren’t always good relationships but they all seemed to make sense. In that part, I really liked the idea of the Pairing (each School Leaver being paired – basically an arranged marriage – with another School Leaver). That part, of course, reminded me of Matched by Ally Condie.

Overall, I really enjoyed the book. If you’re looking for a great dystopian read, I would definitely recommend it. I’m intrigued to see where the series leads. If this sounds like something you’re interested in, check it out on Amazon! I’m off to start book 2!